Quicksearch |
Friday, September 25. 2009Ross BeazleyComments
Display comments as
(Linear | Threaded)
Other people ought not to like this either. He's trying to profit from your work (posts), using advertising.
These sorts of scraping for profit websites have been around for a while, wikipedia had a chronic problem a while back with nefarious people scraping the wiki and adding adverts.
The best idea might be to complain to the webhost, which looks like http://www.webfusion.co.uk and also file with google adsense https://www.google.com/adsense/support/bin/request.py?contact_type=dmca_complaint .
Maybe some of the UK planet readers may have other ideas for dealing with this in the UK.
Dean, I know all this (and thanks for looking up the abuse update.) I just think that I'm not the only one to complain, it might be more effective
I don’t see any ads, but… try to exploit him using your own RSS, then take over then down his site?
awsum! what a week to go on holiday and it all comes crashing down... hehe :) I didnt think there was anything wrong with taking an rss feed from p-deb and hosting on my own box? ive only ever had 5 clicks in a whole year on the adverts. I have been having 800ish unique visits a day and that must lighten the load on the other sites. I did have a few of my own posts buried in there aswell... if u look hard enough... getting domain unregistered... hehe at least i can see the funny side, hope you do aswell :) Just out of interest, how did u even find out and or care?
Ok, fair point, I agree with you... im just trying to get my mail back... my domain has been squashed :) so you cant email me at the moment.
|
Debian Planet |
Comments